History of Memorare Council No.3476
In 1951 Mortimer V. Warner, newly settled in the fast growing section of Nassau County saw the need for a new council. His foresight was confirmed when a discussion with District Deputy Salvatore Napolitano led to the formation of an organizing committee. With Mort as chairman and Edward McGrath as temporary financial secretary the required minimum of 100 candidates was quickly assembled. Most of the candidates were from St. William the Abbott parish.
The committee dedicated the new council to the Blessed Mother and unanimously chose
Memorare as the council name. Formal application was made in 1951. With final approval
on Feb 17, 1952 came the assignment of Council 3476.
For the first two years the council met on the 2 and 4th Wednesday of each month in a
In January 1953 the first issue of the monthly newspaper Memogram was distributed.
The first issue contained 2 pages as compared to the present memogram edited by
Michael Bonagura which contains 12 pages.
On June 30th 1954 a building was purchased at 2183 Jackson Ave, Seaford. The building
with a facade patterned on surrounding private homes had served as a camouflaged machine
shop for secret government work during World War II. Ten years latter the membership
had grown to more than 800 members and the building bulged at the seams. The then
Grand Knight Eugene Cooper appointed Rudy Arnone as Chairman of a building committee.
After months of investigation the only plausible solution to obtaining larger quarters
was to expand the existing building. The willingness of the adjacent property owners
surprised the committee and they were now able to proceed with enlarging the existing
council building. The membership contributed ideas and financial support and the committee
formulated plans and actions resulting in the splendid quarters which the council now enjoy.
In the late 80ies the adjacent private dwelling on the north side was purchased. The
on site parking facilities were subsequently increased.
The council has continually made interior improvements to the facilities to provide a
pleasant location to have its meetings and council dances and for members and patrons to
have family engagement parties, weddings, retirement parties, christenings and other affairs.
Steve Curran was the Council's first Deputy Grand Knight and latter became the Grand Knight. Steve is still an active member.
Our charitable Foundation (The Memorare Foundation) ,formed in 1983, has donated over
$180,000 to charities to date. This does not include council donations which average
$9,000 annually to various organizations.